One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

5-16-08 I Turned into a Martian

Posted by Sean on May 16, 2008

My brother was the Misfits (MySpace here) fan of the family, in the sense that he actually listened to them. There was a time when the boys from Lodi were too scary for me. But I’ve let a few miles roll under me, been beat up by life a few times, and now I gotta say… I like them.

I Turned into a Martian,  off 1982’s Walk Among Us, got me thinking about them. I heard them yesterday on Diane’s Kamikaze Fun Machine, on (you guessed it) WFMU. Never has horrific bodily transmutation sounded so good.

Video courtesy of backporchvideos.

Ah, for the days when you could actually get away with wearing outfits like that…

And here, from benabus, we have actual documentary evidence (as opposed to that fake documentary evidence that they pawn off on you at the flea market) of a human being being turned into a martian! Or possibly Spiderman! It’s a bit hard to tell. Video by the Poonheads.

From the odd to the just as odd… here’s I Turned into a Martian reggae-style, with one-half of a band called Paradox and one-half of a band called False Rhythms. Not bad.

Courtesy of pipp187.

And from odd to the truly bizarre, here’s a horror punk classic… unplugged! Courtesy of Hunter Singleton at huntersingletonmusic, and I have to admit, once I got past the urge to stick this in a “What the FUCK” post, It’s pretty good. Who knew the Misfits could sound so soulful and sad?

And from the truly bizarre into Cthulhu and Yog-Sothoth territory, here’s the latin version of I Turned into a Martian. It’s Me Convierto en Marciano by Mexico City’s Molotov (MySpace here) and, though it’s in another language, it’s undeniably I Turned into a Martian.

Courtesy of xKingBeanerx.

One Response to “5-16-08 I Turned into a Martian”

  1. […] 5-16-08 The Misfits – I Turned into a Martian […]

Leave a Reply

 
