One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Oh No!

Posted by shanoah on March 31, 2008

All but one of those were already on my hard drive, so no big deal. I’ve been usually keeping a folder full of video bookmarks on my hard drive, and a lot of the time, I just pull out several on a theme. And every so often, I do these searches where I bookmark tons of them at once, when I’m inspired.

The ones today, I’ve had bookmarked for a while, with the intent of doing todays post at some point. So, we are going to look at one of the more neglected musicians who everyone loves to hate: Yoko Ono.

Was she involved in the breakup of the Beatles? Yes. But she hardly was the only cause. They likely would have broken up anyways; they were already starting to go in different directions at the time. (She was more directly involved in John Lennon‘s divorce from his first wife, though; they had an affair…)

On the other hand, I can’t say I’m too fond of her tendency to use screaming and orgasms in her songs. And I suspect, given some of her songs, I’d have a hard time living with her. Double Fantasy was a great album, though. Of course, I like music by the Beatles, and most of their solo work, too, so that isn’t too surprising.

Oddly enough, given all that, my first song is not actually by Yoko (though the beginning and end are). The pictures and footage were actually contributed by her, though, and some of them hadn’t been publicly available until this video:

(Note: The one I refer to was removed. You can listen to this one.)

Be My Yoko Ono – Barenaked Ladies

This song is one of my favorites from a “Best of Barenaked Ladies” album I own, though I should qualify that with the fact that I have four or five favorites from that album, which certainly belongs on my list of most played albums.

Hell in Paradise – Yoko Ono

All right, cool song, and she did a lot of visually interesting things in the video. Love the lineup from small to large, and the fight in it is classic. This is from 1986, by the way.

Everyman, Everywoman (remix) – Yoko Ono

I always liked “Every Man has a Woman who Loves Him”, and this remix is pretty good, too. It is off of the album “Yes, I’m a Witch”, which was released last year.

Anyways, this actually has been a long, stressful day for me, too. Fortunately, I wrote most of this during my morning, before I was stressed out…

One Response to “Oh No!”

  1. […] singing well and having them sound good together? She’s capable of it; the song and video for Hell In Paradise were […]

Leave a Reply

 
