One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Mad Furry Radio Gods

Posted by shanoah on March 27, 2008

Actually, the Muppets wasn’t where I first ran into Mahna Mahna, either. The Muppet version was a cover, and I ran into a different version covered by a band called “Moonflower”, on their self-titled cd.

That happens to be a very out there, psychedelic cd which is in frequent rotation for me, btw. One of the reasons why I love cdbaby.com, in fact, is because they have all these unique independent artists you won’t find anywhere else…

So, Grover, a large, blue, furry Muppet, as Yoda, a small green wrinkled one with big ears? It’s a mad, mad world. And so is this:

Mad World

This is actually Gary Jules cover of Mad World, from 2001. The original is a Tears For Fears song from 1982. It also had loud rhythms & synthesizers over the whole thing, and I think the cover did a better job of conveying the message of the song.

I like how the video gives a sense of isolation;observing everything apart from the rest of the world. It seems like a good fit with the songs lyrics. Next, something from 96, a one hit wonder, unfortunately:

Standing Outside a Broken Phone Booth (with Money in My Hand)

This is by Primitive Radio Gods. This is one of these songs with an awesome sound overall to the whole thing, and with lyrics that hold your attention[1].

I suppose after the overall tone of the songs in this post, I should round it off by adding something more upbeat. Maybe something by REM. Or the Muppets. For that matter, why not both?

Furry Happy Monsters

[1] “About a god I’ve never seen, who never fails to favor me”, for example.

Leave a Reply

 
